Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys and girls. Newbie here with another problem on my 04 2.5 R5 D. It's the window regulator. Now I'm a self confessed have ago hero so I was wondering if any of you fine TOUAREG loving people had any info or instruction on how to go about replacing a window regulator.

Thanks Steven. Ireland

·
Registered
20,430 Posts
Yes - take it to your dealer.

The "have-a-go-hero" who replaced his window winder last week managed to jam his driver's door and now can't get in or out of the car and, now the door is firmly shut, can't take the door card off to fix it either.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow that's gonna hurt. I am awear of those type of complications. I have a lot of DIY experience on older porches... bmw etc but not on this bad girl. Just looking for some pointers and when I complete task I will post up a complete guide for sell wannabee have ago heros

·
Super Moderator
3,819 Posts
No Guts , No Glory!! Go for it!

·
Registered
890 Posts
Good advice - just talked to my dealership and tech mentioned me that they get so many window regulator cases where people go to alternative shops, they don't know and screw things up. Dealer is best bet in this case.

·
Registered
103 Posts
I suggest buying the part aftermarket (should be around $100 or less for any door) - and take to someone you can trust, or a dealer.... I believe that VW should charge around $250-300 for the regulator alone, so save the money where you can......

buy the part on your own and pay VW to install, they can't argue that, you're still paying $100 for a one hour job basically

I know it's one hour cause I did my A4 in 1 hour, and that was my first time, I can't imagine the TREG can take that much longer from a pro?

·
Registered
20,430 Posts
Can you really get a VW dealer to fit a part they didn't supply?