Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm going on a cross country trip in May (Pittsburgh-Chicago-Glacier-Vancouver- Seattle- Utah .. etc) and was hoping to take my car out for a spin in Moab. Nothing too crazy (some of you have really crazy pics/vidoes) because I'm a noob but I'd like some pointers nevertheless. I know I need smaller wheels but not sure about the specifics, any recommendations? Do I need anything else on my car, such as skid plates, etc? Any recommended routes? Anyone else want to go?

Thanks, your input is highly appreciated!

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Ok so I take it my previous post was too nonspecific to generate a response so i'll try again. We're going to Moab in our T-regg for he first time this May. In order to prepare I need some help from you guys :)

1. tires. I have come to the understanding that 17" or 18" wheels will do fine, but what kind of tires do I need? Do I have to get off-road tires or would winter/all season tires do the trick? Anyone like any specific brands?

2. skid plates. I didn't get the oem skid plates because most of you said they are useless for the purpose of off-roading. I saw some old threads about custom ones but nothing much recently. Is there a US vendor of metal skid plates for a 2010 TDI with air suspension? Do you guys just go without skid plates? Should I worry about damage?

3. other gear/supplies. Having had very limited experience going off-road I just want to make sure that I have the necessities to imrove my safety/fun factor. Will my phone/nav work in Moab? If not, what (if anything) should i do to make it work? Will there be diesel fuel at regular intervals or do I need to bring some with me? if so, how much? anything else major that i'm not thinking of?