Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not a lot of time to type out everything as I need to let the shop know if I want them do the work..

Long story short...i've been throwing random misfire codes for the past 2 months..
Engine stalls under load
White smoke out the back when under load within the first 20 min.. of driving.

I replaced the plugs & coil packs last month...noted that there was oil accumulated in the 2nd cylinder, right side (from front).

Shop diagnosis is failing/weak fuel injector and recommends replacing all 8

·
Registered
1,726 Posts
injectors do cost a lot of $$$, misfire can be caused by lot of things, like vacuum leak, fuel pumps, O2 sensors, NOX sensors, MAF, plugs, coils, throttle and more. you can take off all the injectors and take them to professional to clean them and see if some of them are not spraying fuel correctly. as far as i know FSI V8s have very high preassure fuel system and its as easy as an early V8 to do injector swap by yourself. also i know that all FSI engines have problem of carbon buildup in intake system that needs cleaning time to time. do you have fault codes? post them here so the other members will see it,
kind regards, Nikoloz

·
Registered
2006 V8 Touareg AIR, nav, hid
4,415 Posts

·
Registered
2,065 Posts
Cleaned your MAF sensor(s) recently??? That solved my misfire and lean bank problems.

You'd only be out the cost of the sensor cleaner if it doesn't solve the problem. And you'd have clean(er) sensors, so it's worth a shot.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
All of you were spot on.
Ultimately I ended up having the work done.... exPENSIVE! ...but worth it as the truck runs like new.
Ended up being sever carbon buildup described by Nikoloz and shown in the video in the link to the thread that Nickyt posted.