1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
16 TDI Lux
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Treg just threw a code today...

P0402 - EGR flow excessive detected

Filled up yesterday. Any chance in hell it could have been bad diesel?

If the egr valve is bad it is under warranty but I, lets just say, don't care for the only VW dealership around here so taking it in is a last resort.

It added significant delay to the throttle response before the cel. For a moment I actually was thinking the "normal" throttle delay was just getting bad until it persisted long after warm up. But it was the exact same type of delay which has me wondering if the "normal" throttle delay could be the initial gases being recirculated..

Back to the question at hand, any chance it is fuel related? Water in the diesel or something? It was Chevron diesel if you were wondering.

Sent from my ASUS_Z01GD using Tapatalk

·
Registered
Audi Q7
31 Posts
I’m no expert here but I would suspect it’s unrelated to the recent fill up. If the valve is allowing gasses to recirculate when it shouldn’t (and potentially causing that lag) then it seems like your culprit.

·
Registered
16 TDI Lux
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I’m no expert here but I would suspect it’s unrelated to the recent fill up. If the valve is allowing gasses to recirculate when it shouldn’t (and potentially causing that lag) then it seems like your culprit.
I agree, I was just making sure they weren't related.

I cleared the codes and will see it it comes back tomorrow. If it does I will have to see if an Indy shop can do the work under warranty.

·
Super Moderator
9,592 Posts
I had throttle lag right before my HPFP grenaded. Let's hope it is not that, but if it is should be covered under the emissions warranty as well.

·
Registered
16 TDI Lux
186 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I had throttle lag right before my HPFP grenaded. Let's hope it is not that, but if it is should be covered under the emissions warranty as well.