Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone. I'm totally new to VW.
Today I negotiated a purchase for a 2015 gas Touareg, so I'm eager to ask a few questions before I hand over the cash.

Today I drove a 2012 TDI and a 2015 FSI. The 2012 was a TANK, and the 2015 seemed an elegant 4x4-turned-turnpike-criuser. I drove the 2012 TDI first, and thought "I'm no way switching from X5 to this". I then drove the 2015 FSI and I thought "I'm done with BMW".

I'm replacing a 2006 bmw X5 @252K miles, and my attention turned to VW only 24 hours ago. I have a 150-mile commute, so a TDI was a given. BUT, after calculating premium vs regular (they claim the FSI is happy on 87 octane) vs diesel, local cars available for purchase, and the VW dealship in Hyannis MA is so friendly, I couldn't help but to resist dragging out my search for further analysis, and I made an offer.

So I asked the dealer (of course, they have no intensive of steering me away from either of their two cars for sale): "The 2015 steers much lighter than the 2012. Will a diesel 2015 steer like the 2015 gas I just drove, or will it steer like the 2012 diesel I just drove?" Their answer was -- "Diesels are setup with heavier steering". I really must know whether I can have the awesome pull of the diesel paired with the much easier/lighter refined steering of the 2015. (and yes, hydraulic steering is a drivers car, and by-wire is not, but let's be practical-- tho hydraulic steering is way better as a fun driver, I commute a zillon hours, and my wife will never chip in on driving if I'm stuck with a truck/tank-like handling of the 2012 TDI.)