Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I've been reading loads of helpful posts from members on here as I am new to Touareg's (Just bought a UK 2007 TDI v6) and I LOVE IT! What an amazing car.

I'm hoping someone can help me address a challenge with an RNS 510 which was retro-fitted today. I have a colour screen MFD that used to show the navigation directions when in Nav mode but now doesn't since i installed the 510 today. How can I fix this? Do I need a VCDS cable or similar?

Also strangely the CD player (6 cd changer in boot) sounded terrible after the install. That is until I plugged my mp3 player in via the 3.5mm jack in the arm rest. If I take the jack out it sounds rubbish again.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

·
My God,it's full of stars
5,765 Posts
Problem is you have a Canbus 1.6 and the 510 needs Canbus 2.0 . Do a search on this plenty written up on it.

siberian

·
Learner
4,676 Posts
Appears you have facelift model,which runs cambus 2.
From my experience you need to enable it via vagcom and swap cd changer wires around as per schematic on unit to remove distortion

·
5,765 Posts
I wasn't aware the 07s had Canbus 2.0. I believe it's only 2008 and up. AFAIK, you have Nav on Can 1.6 in the MFD but when you go to the 510 it's a different ballgame and requires Canbus 2.0 See post above to upgrade. Good luck

siberian

·
5,765 Posts
Well my V8 has serial number 507 and came out in April 2007 but is a 2008. Is this what you mean? A low serial number 08 built in 07?

If it is then yes, he has Canbus 2.0, if it's a 2007 Touareg it has 1.6. Let's leave T1 and T2 out of it as it's confusing since that person is in Europe and ... see relevant discussions.

siberian

·
Administrator
10,219 Posts
Europe and the ROW got facelift versions as 07 MY, the 08 MY facelift was a North America only thing...I think it was a VWoA marketing trick at the time :)