Club Touareg Forum banner

Rear Locker Retrofit Research

78K views 119 replies 32 participants last post by  AlexUK 
#1 ·
Hello all,

First off, there are many people here with fantastic knowledge of VW's / Regs. That being said, please do not reply:

"why would you want to" or "just sell your and buy one" or my favourite, "I'm not technical and I've never done it, but it can't / shouldn't be done".

With that out of the way :) here we go.

* I want to retrofit a rear locker on my 2009 V6 TDI * I'm complying a list of Known's and unKnown's before I start hacking and spending.

Please help me with things you KNOW! and/or have done before.

The wiring diagram shows these modules:
- Differential Control Module (high / low / coupling)
- Differential Lock Module (centre lock)
- Differential Position & Oil Temp Sensors
- Differential Lock Motor & Lock Position Sensors

Known
- no RDL option for Canadian 2009 TDI models
- there was an option somewhere in the world because my 4x4 display has a circle on the rear diff and I have the fuses
- not as easy as buying a locked rear diff and mechanically installing. The motor is a pulsed stepper motor with feedback to module
- VAG COM can turn on the RDL option

unKnown
- if wiring pigtails for locked rear diff are on all models regardless of option
- if RDL requires a separate "Diff Lock control Module" or just a "Diff Lock Motor and Sensor" module
- If seperate "Diff Lock motor / sensor Module", where does it go or is it built into rear diff lock stepper motor.
- if there's a way to hack the system to manually select lockers in "high"

*Both the dif lock and dif control modules have many open numbers that I'm assuming are for the Rear Diff Lock and Motor sensors module

See less See more
#3 ·
Why on earth would you want one? :confused:

It would be cheaper to trade your car for one that has it fitted than try a DIY.:rolleyes: