Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I'm upgrading my sound system!

I am very disappointed with the base sound system. I am coming out of a 2011 Infiniti EX35 with a Bose sound system. I was very pleased with the Infiniti Bose system and never even thought to check the Toureg's sound system before I purchased it. I am just getting started on an audio upgrade. I will be adding a digital sound processor, an amplifier and a sub-woofer.

My purchases thus far:
  • Audison Bit Ten D
  • Pioneer TSD-SWX251 Down-firing 10" Subwoofer with enclosure
  • Jensen POWER15005 / POWER1500.5D / POWER1500.5D 5 Channel Class D Amplifier
  • Fierce Car Audio PREMIUM SPEAKER WIRE 12 GAUGE 20 FT
  • Metra 70-9003 Radio Wiring Harness for Audi/BMW/VW 2002-Up
  • Metra 71-9003 Reverse Wiring Harness for Select 2002-up BMW 5 Series, Audi, and Volkswagen Vehicles OEM Radio
  • Scosche Revopak4 4-Gauge Revo Series Single Amp Power and Audio Kit-Silver/Black
  • 2 of Scosche reVo6 Revo 6-Feet 2-Channel Audio Cable Twisted Pair with Molded Ends (Clear/Black)
  • Dynamat 13100 1-1/2" Wide and 30' Long DynaTape Sound Deadener
  • 2 of Dynamat 10435 12" x 36" x 0.067" Thick Self-Adhesive Sound Deadener with Xtreme Door Kit

All totaled about $1000 thus far...

I hope to start the installation in the coming weekend.

Rich

·
Registered
2013 VW Touareg TDI Sport w/tech
902 Posts
Make sure to take pictures along the way

And tell what works well, what doesn't..

I also agree, the base sound system is sub-par, although I would have bought the TDI anyway.

My 2003 4runner Limited had the JBL synthesis 10 speaker system and it was great. Never needed anything else.

I think the Touareg lacking a really good center speaker is a shame.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Will take pictures for sure...

I'll take pictures and provide commentary on the build along the way.