Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All, Im new to the Touareg Market and doing lots of online research prior to purchasing. Im keen on the 180KW twin diesel, from a budget point of view I max out round 45ish, Not many of the older / and newer for that matter TDI's seem to have the adjustable air suspension, How neccesary is that, I think i can ,ive without low range, Im not going to do extreme four wheel driving but some sand/beach driving and camping offroad ish! not extreme rock hopping. Hoping for some thoughts and advise
Regards
Bruce

·
Registered
2006 V10 TDI
56 Posts
I think it's worth it, but not a necessity. For me, though, it's the combination of all the over-engineered and not-really-necessary-but-cool features that drew me to the Touareg in the first place.

Keep in mind the air suspension has some uses besides off-roading. Loading Level drops the car all the way down for loading cargo in the back or on the roof. When you put the suspension in Sport mode it also lowers the car for more... sporty... handling.

·
Registered
04 V8 T1
966 Posts
I have air Suspension. It feels great, but I do worry for the day that it decides to lose it. If you're not getting warranty that will cover the suspension I would say no.

·
Registered
36 Posts
You shouldn’t have any trouble finding a 7P with air suspension. I only know about 2016 when all the V6 model (ie 180kw) had it. The 150kw entry models (still a V6 BTW, but badged ‘150’) had steel suspension. Air suspension has several advantages, but the main 2 for us are:
1. I wouldn’t be without it (or 180kw/550Nm) for towing something heavy. Our van is about 3.25T
2. It’s great for the beach to raise the body for clearance. In ‘extreme off-road’ setting we have about the same clearance as my friend’s Prado with 4” lift😳. We also took it down an rutted off-road track with a camper trailer and friends were amazed with the clearance and capability.