Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Fellow Treggers
Well I jumped in with both feet and bought a very well cared for V10 (2003) and what a lot of motor I have for my money!!. I did want a V6 TDi but couldn't find the right one.
I’ve always bought older German motors and run them without ever being bitten as it were, only the usual consumables. I must say the Touareg doesn’t disappoint, it does have a few issues, but im an Engineer and am not afraid of the challenge of keeping a vehicle like this in good condition. That said I’d love and appreciate some advice about some of the cars issues and am detailing them below, I'm hoping to tap into your experiences and knowledge.
The biggest issue is the Gearbox, I’ve read up on the common Valve chest problems and know I have an issue here, so I did some digging and found a firm on ebay that rebuilds the valve chest with new seals and he has a good piece of kit to check before and after results supplying you back your original valve chest, he even mods it to be better than new (in some ways)he has 100% feed back and I’ve spoken to him he seems to know his stuff, I just wondered if anyone has used him? His URL is below
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/VALVE-BODY-MECHATRONIC-REBUILD-ALL-GEARBOX-VW-TOUAREG-AUDI-Q7-PORSCHE-CAYENNE-/221834048237?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_3&hash=item33a656f2ed
Im hopeful this will sort my box issues, the car drives great until I give it a bootful, then as I come of the power and it changes to fifth gear I get a nasty bang\thump, Ive read a lot about this and it seems a classic worn valve chest issue. I reacon Im capable of doing the work myself, it didn't put me off buying the car, I got the dealer to contribute half the cost!