Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm planning on driving up to Hungry Valley this coming Saturday or Sunday. My weekend is open so i haven't decided on a specific date.
If anyone is interested, join in.
I'm an absolute newbie in off-roading, that's why i want to try the pre-set environment :)

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Have a great time up there!

Since you are in the SoCal area, you might want to check the oausa.net group for local meets. Generally a very vehicle-friendly group; there is almost always a gathering. My next run with them maybe the Mojave Road overnight expedition in early January (wagon trail between I-15 and I-40 from Laughlin area to Barstow).

Playing in an OHV park is a good way to get your feet wet and try some of the settings in a playground. Let us know how it turns out. Ask questions when you get back.

- Karl

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you Karl!
I've signed up to the oausa.net group already and will try to join them for Mojave Road expedition.
I do have a quick question. How to avoid that kind of a situation
I don't have air suspension, should i simply avoid that kind of a terrain, or can it be approached from the different angel?

thank you

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Looks like an intentional high-centering...

but a couple things may have helped since it appears they lost traction...

Center lock on.... and I would have turned off ESP on the climb to insure no loss of momentum in that soft stuff; and it did not sound like they were in any form of controlled low gunning it the way they did. These are all guesses on what appears to be an incompetent approach. Good thing that wasnt rock up there... looks like the vehicle ended up on the crossmember.

Other ideas?

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
But what if you approach it slightly sideways and not directly head on? ESP off - makes complete sense.

·
Registered
1,061 Posts