Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a happy new Treg owner, 2012 Lux TDI. Planing to use to tow 21' TT to see the little stuff across this beautiful country. I flew to Denver from Phoenix, made the purchase, but 160mi into the trip home the dreaded check engine light illuminated. The code was P040B suggesting a bad EGT Sensor. Since there was no white smoke and engine temp was fine. Continued the 600mi trip home w/o incident. When I looked up the part I find 4 from VW service parts with descriptions of different install locations.
Found an Aussie YouTube video replacing the DPF w/ the EGT sensor located right at the front. See below.
I'm thinking easy peasy. So I got underneath to discover no sensor anywhere on the DPF. I'm stumped.Not much info online and no shop manual available, how does a DYI guy work on these vehicles? I'm not a mechanic, but I've managed to repair all my other cars for 30yrs.
Here's what I see.

Attachments

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
SaVAgeSOOT: Wonderful diagram, thanks. I've read about the VCDS software and looked at the Ross Tech website, but am not clear about its advantage, being an OBD user. Some make it sound like a panacea, which if true would be terrific. Can you give an idea in this instance what it would tell me. Is Ross Tech the way to go?

·
Registered
'14 TDI Execline
1,589 Posts
The only way I can sum it up is basically that it will allow you to just about read\see anything that the vehicle computers (ECU, TCU, many other control modules) see. When properly used, it has tons of capability from reading\resetting\making adaptations\looking at live data\logging, etc.

It's a must have for VW DIYers

Here's a sample of the typical information that tool would give when detecting an EGT sensor issue
001348 - Sensor 1 for Exhaust Temp Bank 1 (G235)
P0544 - 001 - Circuit Malfunction
Freeze Frame:
Fault Status: 01100001
Fault Priority: 2