Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am a 30yrs old and by profession I am an engineer. I in a point in life were I need a larger vehicle and I will be going for an SUV, being 6'3" tall, I find it that these are the best vehicles for me.

I loved the Touareg from the first day I saw it and in my opinion it looks the business. Not many around were I live since they were very expensive when new. I always had a soft spot for the V10 TDi although a V6 TDi would be nice as well. I happen to find a 2004 V10 TDi for sale, below the 80K km on the clock and in very good condition - fully loaded, not cheap but affordable.

I read many reviews and posts, however many seem to name the V10 as unreliable and very expensive to keep and run as a daily driver. I will be doing around 13k km per year. I would like to buy it but all the posts seems to say otherwise. The fact that the engine needs to be removed to replace some parts that are prone to fail scares me a bit as this means a huge bill...but who many times do you need to take it out?

I would like to have some honest feedback from people who owns such vehicles especially if you owned a V10. How expensive is it to run and reliability? any mileage that should make you walk away? and what about the MPG? Should I opt for a V6?

There is a saying that says if you cannot afford it new, don't buy it second hand ;) ... might be true for some cars.

I thank you in advance

Regards
D.

·
Registered
20,430 Posts
If you have deep pockets and can take a hit or two if you buy a dud, buy a V10.

If you don't and can't, then perhaps even a V6 isn't for you.

All Touaregs are expensive to fix, the V10 more so under the bonnet, and as they age your saying - if you cannot afford it new, don't buy it second hand - becomes ever more appropriate.

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3