Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi All,
I'm a bit of a newbie here, but I have tried the search and it didn't come up with anything. I've got a 2003 V10 and have been taking some data from the OBDII port, the update rate is too slow for what I want to do so I'm planning on connecting straight in to the CAN bus and taking data directly from there. Does anybody have any experience of doing this? Particularly I'm after addresses and scaling factors for any engine related parameters:

Load
RPM
Boost pressure
Water temperature
Inlet air temperature

Any help appreciated. If nobody has anything I'll get stuck in myself and report what I find.

Regards,

Notts.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You are correct, it is definately not on the OBDII port. I'm going to pull it off from the connector block which goes in to the back of the sat-nav. I've run a cable from there through to the glove box so I can hide the cable when it's not in use. I should have it wired up tomorrow for some initial results. I have a feeling it might well just be J1939 protocol.

Notts.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have made some progress, I have found that I can get engine speed and steering position at 10Hz, which might do for what I want. If anybody is interested I will post a breakdown of the messages soon along with some power curves.

Notts

·
Learner
MY21 Wolfsburg Moonlight Blue
5,701 Posts
pls do. what kind of tool are you using to detect?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I am using PCAN explorer from Peak Systems. I have stored trace files, which are basically a text file of all the CAN bus data. I then load these files in to Excel and try to make sense of the data on the different addresses. The file data looks like this:

; Start time: 16/09/2009 06:08:08.4481
; PCAN-Net: Testnet
;
; Columns description:
; ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
; +-Message Number
; | +Time Offset (ms)