Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey everyone! This is my first time posting here so bare with me if there are any mistakes. I recently was able to restore full function to the blower motor in our 2012 Touareg TDI without having to fully replace the whole assembly. Here is a good overview of what I did and some useful tips.

In my research prior to taking anything apart many people were claiming the resistor was an integrated part and could not be replaced or serviced. This is SO far from the truth! The assembly is actually VERY serviceable.

I had two faults via VCDS in Address 08: Auto HVAC (J255) :
0251 - Air Blower
B10BE 12 [008] - Short to Plus
0243 - Function Restriction due to Faults in Other Modules
U1113 00 [008]

If you have the same fault and symptoms, then the following method will be your cheapest repair option. In terms of symptoms, our Touareg could no longer exceed the third speed setting. You could set it higher but there would be no gain in speed. The ability for the fan to function at all also became intermittent. I confirmed all of those symptoms visually once the fan was removed from his housing under the passenger dash.

Removal is fairly simple and you don't need very many tools, if you're familiar with replacing the cabin air filter in your vehicle you're already half way there.

Step One - You will need a T15 Torx bit, this to remove three screws that secure the lower dash panel. There is also a vent duct that you can remove by hand, just undo the clip and slide it off of the other duct near the center dash. Be mindful of electrical connections, there is a light and a temperature sensor that you must disconnect, very simple just press the clips and pull.