Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
1,128 Posts
Thule, Yakima or Kuat...I personally chauffeur my $5K steed on a Yakima Doubledown 4 with a frame adapter from Thule to keep the straps from marring the finish...that's what rocks and roots are for!

· Registered
314 Posts
Here's our cruisers, sitting on our Thule rack I found for $100 on craigslist...

It's a pretty nice setup. I've hit a few good dips at speed and the bikes stayed put. It folds up nice, when you still have it attached and heading off for your ride.

· Registered
409 Posts
The Yakima two-timer/four timer racks work pretty well for a wide range of bikes, up to four at a time, but will not take fat-tire bikes without expensive conversion kits. They are also pretty bulky

My personal favorites come from North Shore Racks; however they do not work for road or cyclocross bikes and they are rather pricey.

I've heard good things about the 1-up rack mentioned earlier, but I have no experience with this brand.

It would help if you told us what type of bikes you plan to haul and how many you plan to take at a time.

· Registered
2013 VW Touareg TDI Sport w/tech
973 Posts
If you can afford one, the 1upUSA is the rack to get. There are several versions. The best part is if you don't need to carry more than three bikes, and you usually only carry one bike, then you can get the single 1up rack, and easily add two more trays in a minute or two, and take them off just as fast.

The single 1up also fits 2 inch and 1-1/4 inch receivers. It comes with an adapter that goes on and off with one bolt. Two bikes are easy to make clear each other, multiple bike trays are staged higher, like stadium seats.

If you always carry two, or more bikes, get the 2 tray bike system, and add to it. You can also buy a cheap adapter kit that allows bikes with tires up to 4.5 inches wide (fat bikes). Also cheap adapters for very skinny road bikes tires (under 2.0 inches) .