Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
Here is what appended to me: left my Tuareg parked for almost 3 weeks (cold weather), when I got back battery was totally drained, at the point that not even dash or courtesy light came on, tried with jumper cables: nothing, tried with charger: nothing.
My mechanic sad that the battery went down cose the alternator is Brocken and have to replace both battery and alternator.
Now, I'm not an expert, but I did Not get any sign for that (red battery light, battery charger indication low, onboard comp. warning) I'm now wondering if that is possible or the mech. Is just trying to get more $!
Please help!
P.s. Is it normal that once I sticker the key in the ignition it would not let me pulled out? :(
Thanks

·
Registered
3 Posts
I had a very similar problem and still have currently, if you ever got your vehicle running if you take it to the dealer or even autozone, they can check you alternator free of charge. If the battery in your vehicle is stock, I would try just replacing it. If you look on YouTube for touareg battery replacement on YouTube you could do it yourself if you're mechanically inclined. And as for taking your key out. I read somewhere if you turn the key counterclockwise 3 times, and then push in the small button on the key slot with a pen it'll come out.

Good luck

·
Registered
39 Posts
You are not alone... and odds are there's nothing wrong with the alternator.

My Treg's battery typically goes dead within two weeks if the car's been standing still. Dealer's tried everything (or so they say), even replaced the battery - but to no avail. Seems there are so many electronics that continue to drain power when the car is parked that there is no real solution to the problem. Only piece of advice the dealer could give me was to make sure that I arm the alarm system when I park the Treg; apparently that puts many of the subsystems into "snooze mode".