Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I had my A/C repaired under extended warranty last fall. My extended warranty would pay for a restricted oriface (which in a VW is the Thermal Expansion Valve) if needed under the failed compressor, but the shop didn't swap it (either of them, it's a V10 with dual a/c). I don't use my A/C much - maybe a few hours last year after the repair. This spring - it worked for awhile, then quite. Brought to the shop - they say it's the Thermal Expansion Valve :frown2: Extended warranty doesn't apply since it's not the compressor.
Now - I'm a former Ford Factory Tech - we ALWAYS swapped the restricted oriface with a failed compressor - AND the accumulator/drier - both for the same reason: you can't flush out ALL the bits of failed compressor pistons/seals from those parts.

So - Fine. I paid for it out of pocket. Diag, parts, labor - $900 and change.

It worked! For about 3 days. Then - hmm. No A/C - and I notice - no rear A/C.

Bring to the shop - oh - my new compressor has failed. It has a 3 year/36k warranty - hurray.......

But they aren't giving me $900 back - any of it. They say it's not related.

I can't see how the failed compressor DIDN'T plug the thermal expansion valves.

They say: Your valves are fine now, the compressor swap will bring your A/C back to life. We'll flush it all out, the A/C will work.

I say: If it was the compressor failed now, it was on it's way out a week ago (actually several weeks now, but a week from valve swap to no A/C again).

BTW - if you didn't know, Alaska has set all-time records for heat. For me a hot day is 75 - it's been hitting 90's. Interior Alaska has that sometimes - here in Anchorage and Wasilla - almost never.

And I am starting to suspect a failed blend-door. It makes 105F air when set on coldest setting and Econ.