Club Touareg Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I’m new to this Fan Club, with my 2015 VW Touareg Sport (w/ no trailer hitch).
Just yesterday, I installed a OEM Trailer Hitch from 2012 VW Touareg TDI LUX that had the OEM wiring hardness.
?: is does my 2015 T-Reg come with the Towing Control Module Pre-Installed?
I have the Trailer Hitch and Trailer Connector trailer plug receptacle (7L0 055 305N) at the hitch.
I thinking I am missing the OEM Volkswagen Touareg Vehicle Towing Module Controller # 4H0-907-383-M-Z01. What is the correct part # for this Towing Module Controller???

Can this Towing Module Controller be by-passed? Not trying to go cheap, just trying to understand better. I also get that the other models are similar, the Audi Q7 and the Porsche Cayenne.

?: Does this Towing Module Controller also handle the Electric Brake of the Trailers?

Thank you very much in advance, for any help and assistance.

Rick

·
Registered
19 Posts
I can only answer one of your questions:
: Does this Towing Module Controller also handle the Electric Brake of the Trailers?
No, you will still require an aftermarket brake controller to handle the electric brakes on the trailer.

·
Registered
322 Posts
You have two choices.
1. Install all of the VW wiring and the trailer module and adapt the electronics for it and then add an electric brake controller for the trailer. The wiring may or may not be present, but if it is then the blue wire for the brake would be run from the front to the back. Either way the brake controller will have to be added,
2. Buy a trailer light adapter from a company like eTrailer and forgo the module and it's program changes to the way the car's systems adapt to towing.
This means that the gear box will not make changes to its operation for towing nor will the engine and cooling systems either, but that may not make a lot of difference.