Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
noob here, but owner of 6sp manual Dodge Cummins with Edge and other upgrades for big torque >750 ftlb. It is the primary tow vehicle for a 24 ft race trailer, total weight about 8,000 pounds.​

The Cummins delivers 13 mpg towing this brick.​

Have test driven X5D and Treg TDI and BMW had nice road manners, but only 6500 lb tow capacity vs. 7700 for Treg.​

What is tow capacity of V10? Is this rare 2007 beast with 15k miles worth $45k? some here feel the V10 was the best Treg built; do others feel the same? I do want decent mileage in the mid 20's, can the V10 do that?​

Many seem to feel the V10 is a rare find; is the ultimate engine, but is the mileage significantly less than the new 3liter V6​

Please help as I have only 2 days to make a decision on the V10​

·
Registered
133 Posts
Tow capacity for the Touareg (both V10 and V6 TDI) is 3500kg. That must be 7700lbs.

The V10 is a very good tow vehicle, especially with the air suspension. The mileage is less than the V6 for sure, but there is more power and torque.

I have owned both, and the 3 litre TDI is a better balanced unit, but I live in another country with different conditions, so it is hard to judge accurately how my experience translates.

The V10 is a powerful unit, but it requires more attention to keep it running. Looked after properly they will last a very long time.

Let us know which way you choose.

·
Super Moderator
9,662 Posts
Stick with the Truck since the Touaregs will not meet your needs with towing that much. They are limited to 7700 lbs not because of motor, but more due to chassis. You could buy the V10 and use it for that, but you are exceeding the towing capacity with it by towing that trailer. Either one of the motors would probably tow it fine,

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
V10 vs. V6tdi and towing capability