Club Touareg Forum banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have been asked to look at this vehicle, for a friend. I am an experienced shade tree mechanic of, well let's just say a very long time... I'm over 60 years old.
However, I have not done much work on VW's and have come to realize there are some things that are different on these vehicles than the normal "American Made" vehicles. Have said all of that, I'm just trying to double check with those that have more experience with VW an Audi engines to make this a little easier on me to locate items and procedures for R&R of items.
As stated above, this is a 2004 Touareg with a 3.2L engine code of BAA, with about 85,000 miles on it. Here are the codes I have pulled:
P0305
P0300
P0016
P0302
P0351
P0303
P0306 (Pending)

After much searching, I have found the Cam Position Sensor is located on the rear of the engine and will be looking at that tomorrow, to ensure it is clean and working. As this would cause all the other misfire codes.
Also will be looking into the P0351 "Ignition Coil "A" Primary Control Circuit Open" , however, would be helpful if I had some type of wiring diagram for this portion. I don't have a repair manual, as of yet.

I understand, this engine is prone to having stretched timing chain issues. Since the timing chain is located in the rear of the engine, is there a easy way to verify the chain is or is not stretched? Can you check the chain while the engine is in vehicle?
If the engine needs to be removed from vehicle, is there a good R&R sequence available for the removal? I am sure I don't have all the "special" tools recommended by VW, but I do have lifts and things that could be adapted to work (I hope). Like I said, I'm a shade tree mechanic, can adapt and overcome if required.