jumping, hesitation in engine - Club Touareg Forums

post #1 of 14 Old 10-01-2014 Thread Starter

Touareg: 2008 V6
Second Vehicle: Still looking
jumping, hesitation in engine

Hi. This is my first time ever posting in this forum, although I have used the forum MANY times due to "complete brain dead" Touareg on several different occasions. I have a 2008 V6 Touareg, fully loaded, and we purchased this vehicle used in mint condition in 2011 with 87,000. It now has 105,000. I LOVE my Touareg but cannot trust it. I am a mother of two and wish this car would just heal itself and be the car it should be. I have considered trading, but ever car I have driven just doesn't compare to my Touareg, performance or options.

My problem is a jumping in the engine when I start it and a hesitation when driving initially causing it to jerk. It feels like it is trying to run out of gas, but it isn't. The RPM gauge moves and bounces along with this "sputtering". It does go away after a couple of minutes, but may start again on next start up or next month??? It is confusing and frustrating.

Also, not sure if this is related or not, sometimes when I go to pump gas and remove gas cap it is as if I have opened a new two liter of soda. Pressure is released (normal???), then sometimes it will let me fill up and other times the pump stops as if it is full. I have learned that it is NOT full at all and I pull the pump out to let the pressure build up escape, reinsert pump and begin fueling again. This sometimes takes 3-5 times I'm order to fill up. Are these two things related??? Fuel pump, filter, injection??? I only use premium as directed, have added fuel injection cleaners and no change.

Any help is so very appreciated!!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 10-01-2014
Touareg Addict

Touareg: 2005 V6
Second Vehicle: Other
Garage
That gas tank issue isn't normal in my experience with the touareg or any car for that matter. Take it in and get it checked out.