V10 camshaft timing problems - Club Touareg Forums
 1Likes
  • 1 Post By noobytoogy

post #1 of 3 Old 05-20-2019 Thread Starter

Touareg: 2004 V10 TDI
Second Vehicle: Still looking
V10 camshaft timing problems

I have a 04 touareg with the v10 tdi in.200k on it. I picked it up over a year ago cheap because it was misfiring under throttle. It had the typical worn out camshafts. Always wanted one ever since I worked as a VW tech for a couple years.
Replaced the camshafts - not OE but from place out of the UK. All new lifters, bearings ect. I had access to the OEM timing tools at the time, except the camshaft holder kit. Ordered that. Anyway, it all went very smooth.
After about a month of driving it (it was driving great), it started having a harder time starting and was setting fault for p0341 - implausible camshaft signal. Eventually, it would not start at all. Disconnecting the camshaft sensor would allow it to start up and drive into the shop.
I did not think to replace the camshaft bolts ( Large triple square that holds gear) because I forgot to order them and I only had the weekend to finish my vehicle when I tore into it. This was at the shop I worked at, and had to go out on Monday. I was thinking because I didn't replace those, maybe the timing moved. * I did use new friction washers.
Decided I would drop the motor again, 2nd time around is always considerably faster and easier. This time around made sure to use all new camshaft bolts and friction washers again. Retimed engine and off I went. Ran great.
Drove it for about 6 months, no issues. Then it started happening again. Again, setting fault: p0341 - Camshaft Position Sensor (g40) Implausible signal. Only sets fault on startup. Not a hard fault while running.
Frustrated, I parked it for a while and forgot about it.