Battery drains - Club Touareg Forums

post #1 of 14 Old 01-10-2014 Thread Starter

Touareg: 2006 V8
Second Vehicle: Still looking
Battery drains

Hello,
Here is what appended to me: left my Tuareg parked for almost 3 weeks (cold weather), when I got back battery was totally drained, at the point that not even dash or courtesy light came on, tried with jumper cables: nothing, tried with charger: nothing.
My mechanic sad that the battery went down cose the alternator is Brocken and have to replace both battery and alternator.
Now, I'm not an expert, but I did Not get any sign for that (red battery light, battery charger indication low, onboard comp. warning) I'm now wondering if that is possible or the mech. Is just trying to get more $!
Please help!
P.s. Is it normal that once I sticker the key in the ignition it would not let me pulled out?
Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 01-01-2015

Touareg: 2006 V8
I had a very similar problem and still have currently, if you ever got your vehicle running if you take it to the dealer or even autozone, they can check you alternator free of charge. If the battery in your vehicle is stock, I would try just replacing it. If you look on YouTube for touareg battery replacement on YouTube you could do it yourself if you're mechanically inclined. And as for taking your key out. I read somewhere if you turn the key counterclockwise 3 times, and then push in the small button on the key slot with a pen it'll come out.

Good luck
post #3 of 14 Old 01-02-2015

Touareg: 2010 V6 TDI
You are not alone... and odds are there's nothing wrong with the alternator.