Newbie Touareg TDI owner - Club Touareg Forums

post #1 of 6 Old 05-14-2019 Thread Starter

Touareg: 2013 V6 TDI
Second Vehicle: Still looking
Newbie Touareg TDI owner

Greetings All.

I'm new to Touareg and TDI. I've just purchased a 2013 Treg TDI 3.0L V6 LUX with about 64K. I love it! I intend to tow a 5,500# travel trailer (550# tongue weight) with it across the western and southwestern US for two months this summer. At 7,700# I was quite surprised that it has a 1,000# greater tow rating than the '05 Tundra it replaced. Its payload is a little less than the Tundra and cargo space is obviously much less. I am new to diesel engines. I've been told to operate the TDI differently from a gas engine. Full disclosure... I bought it with help from my son who is a VW salesperson. I have a great relationship with the dealer's service crew. However it is a smaller dealer in a smaller market. The Treg has some issues, though, that the service crew have not encountered.

This is a long first post, but I'm experiencing some problems with the Treg and need direction to the appropriate forums. I've been reading various threads and am unsure where to find answers.

1. While testing its towing capability the check engine light turned on and the glow plug warning light started blinking. The Touareg forum threads I've read confirm there is no documentation for a blinking glow plug light. in the threads, root causes have been bad ground in the HPFP, faulty throttle valve sensor, bad starting battery, etc. The light turns off after between 1 and 24 hours.