Moisture in Air Suspension - Club Touareg Forums

post #1 of 18 Old 02-14-2012 Thread Starter

Touareg: 2007 V10 TDI
Second Vehicle: Still looking
Moisture in Air Suspension

Hi everybody, newbie here!

I am a Brit living in Poland and have recently bought a 2007 V10... very nice!

I had some problems with Running Gear Fault Stop messages so I took it to the local VW place.

About £1600 later I got it back, the main things replaced were 0AD341601C Transfer box motor and 7L6616403B Air Spring.

All was well until it got really cold - that's about -29c here - the Running Gear Fault Stop message came up again so I went back to the garage.

They appeared to agree with my diagnosis of moisture in the air suspension system as it would not lower at all, they kept the car for a couple of days and once it warmed up the suspension was OK, when I asked if it could happen again the answer was 'probably' and when asked if they could fix it was told that the air suspension was a sealed system and no.

So I looked at the invoice and saw that an air spring had been replaced.

Can anybody please confirm or otherwise that to replace the air spring you have to completely de-pressurise the system, and the moist air introduced on re-pressurisation is the problem, and any ideas what to do about it?

I have read that there is an air dryer which should not need replacing, has anybody else had any problems?

Thanks

Andy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 Old 02-14-2012
Touareg Enthusiast

Touareg: 2005 V8
I've wondered about this myself. I've owned trucks with custom air suspension and all the systems have had water traps that we would drain. I would how these systems maintain themselves.

2005 Black VW Touareg V8 - RNS2 Nav/JL Audio - Air Suspension - 19" VW wheels - Morimoto 5k Lows and 4300K Fogs
post #3 of 18 Old 02-15-2012
Touareg Mechanic

Check out this in the DIY forum: SSP 302 Touareg Chassis Concept.pdf

There's a silica gel dryer.