engine coolant temp - Club Touareg Forums

post #1 of 13 Old 06-23-2011 Thread Starter
Touareg Enthusiast

Touareg: 2011 V6 TDI
Second Vehicle: Other
engine coolant temp

This 2011 TDI Sport is my 9th diesel, so I'm not a novice. All my previous diesels had thermostats between 70C and 85C (160F-185F). Yet this Touareg wants to run at an indicated 210F (instrument panel gauge). Sending unit and gauge work, because I can see the temp rise as the engine warms up. But then it stops at 210F, and doesn't move anymore. I don't even see the (expected) gauge movement that reflects the thermostat opening and closing. Can it possibly have a 100C thermostat, or is this something I should have checked out? No check engine lights/faults/codes by the way.

Checked with service manager at 2 different dealerships. One danced around the question, said he'd have to plug in the car. The other promised a callback, then didn't. So I'm hoping for real-world input from other US-spec 2011 Touareg TDI owners (3.0 engine). Because from what I've seen since owning this vehicle, they seem to know more about their cars than do the VW service reps (in my area).

//greg//
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 06-23-2011

Touareg: 2008 V6 TDI
Second Vehicle: VW 2
Garage
FYI - My 2008 V6 TDI sits as steady as a rock on 90 C and does not move, either in mid summer at 40 C or Last week in Canberra at 2 C.... I think 100 C (210F) sounds a little high...

2008 V6 TDI, with the following Retrofitted Items:
ACC, Front & Side Assist, Paddle Shift, Towbar & Trailer Module, Fiscon Bluetooth. Reversing Camera, Front Fog Lamps, Redarc TowPro Brake Controller, T1 Door Warning Lamps, T1 Under Seat Drawer, Alloy Skid Plate, 5ton Winch, Cayenne Front and Rear Sway Bars, Tuned by Oettinger, Retrofitted 6 Piston Brembo Front Brake Callipers, Sports Steering Wheel, TPMS (OEM), Dual Batteries
post #3 of 13 Old 06-23-2011
Touareg Enthusiast

Second Vehicle: 2014 V6 TDI