2004 V8 Touareg - Club Touareg Forums

post #1 of 4 Old 01-08-2018 Thread Starter

Question 2004 V8 Touareg

I have been driving this car for a couple of years, no issues. I bought it officially from a friend last year and have had a few issues with it.

I've got a majority of them fixed but I'm still left with a few problems. One of them being a big battery drain, which I can't find the issue at all. I've replaced the battery, but just to "CHECK" the issue everyone wants to charge me nearly $300 and that's not even to fix the problem. Brakes / pads and rotors need to also be replaced, and of course the jockey box no longer stays closed.

I believe the issue is either the alternator itself or something to do with the Navigation unit I've read.

Unfortunately, I'm not mechanically inclined, so I'm looking for recommendations on trustworthy mechanics with great pricing. I am also underwater on the car, so this also means selling it will be a pain, if you have any recommendations here I'd be willing to listen. It's not a call to get out of the loan, I agreed to it, I owe the money that's fine, but I'm throwing away nearly $300 + a month with a car that just sits in my driveway.

I am in between Logan, UT and SLC, so any one in or between those areas would be great!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 Old 04-14-2018

Touareg: 2009 V6
Second Vehicle: is not a VW
Do you have a vag-com? I'm up in SLC and could swing by and do a scan for you. No testimony on mechanics since I just moved here, but Wofford's European Car comes highly recommended, haven't used them, but just thought I'd pass it along
post #3 of 4 Old 04-14-2018
Touareg Guru

Touareg: 2006 V8
Second Vehicle: 2004 V6
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by azewr View Post
I believe the issue is either the alternator itself or something to do with the Navigation unit I've read.