got rear ended, and smoke out of center console? - Club Touareg Forums

post #1 of 16 Old 04-11-2019 Thread Starter
Touareg Enthusiast

Touareg: 2017 V6 FSI
Second Vehicle: is not a VW
got rear ended, and smoke out of center console?

Hi forum,

I have been driving 2 tregs for the past 7 years and yesterday I had my first accident.

It's morning rush hour highway traffic, ~40 mph, and the car in front me suddenly went full stop. I floored the brake to get the car to stop (ABS activated). However, the car behind me didn't and hit from behind.

After the collision, the engine won't start and has to be towed away. I am still waiting for the insurance company to assess the accident before sending it to the dealer for repair.

Here is the question bothering me: When the collision happend, there's also a little bit smoke coming out of the center console. What could it be? ABS? transmission? or exhaust?

Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 04-11-2019
Touareg Mechanic

Touareg: 2004 V10 TDI
Second Vehicle: Other
hope you're ok saltshaker.
post #3 of 16 Old 04-11-2019

Touareg: 2004 V8
Second Vehicle: Still looking
Quote:
Originally Posted by saltshaker View Post
Hi forum,

I have been driving 2 tregs for the past 7 years and yesterday I had my first accident.

It's morning rush hour highway traffic, ~40 mph, and the car in front me suddenly went full stop. I floored the brake to get the car to stop (ABS activated). However, the car behind me didn't and hit from behind.

After the collision, the engine won't start and has to be towed away. I am still waiting for the insurance company to assess the accident before sending it to the dealer for repair.

Here is the question bothering me: When the collision happend, there's also a little bit smoke coming out of the center console. What could it be? ABS? transmission? or exhaust?

Thanks!
Possibly came from the Airbag module. It sits under the center console on top of the tunnel.
Attached Thumbnails